Coupons · CVS · Food · Free · Walgreens

My haul for the week

Here is what I got at CVS and Walgreens for the week of 9/4/2011. I was worried because I couldn’t shop until today, hoping that there would still be the stuff I wanted left. Sure enough, I got everything I planned on getting. How much should it have cost me? $103.22. How much did I actually fork over in cash? $14.37. That is an 86% savings! Here is how I did it:

The key to getting this awesome deal: Get Register Rewards from Walgreens and Extra Care Bucks from CVS. You’ll be able to get items at low cost, free, or even make money on an item. You’ll want to “Roll” these rewards from previous transactions. Here is a good description on how to roll your rewards from the Krazy Coupon Lady website:

  • Rolling Catalinas: refers to the practice of separating your purchase into multiple transactions in order to use register catalina coupons from your first transaction to pay for your second transaction.  Another catalina prints from the 2nd transaction that pays for the 3rd transaction and so on.”

Today, I didn’t need to do separate transactions, but usually I do. I had enough catalinas from previous shopping trips to get me through. Walgreens is tricky when doing this, so make sure you check out some blogs, like the Krazy Coupon Lady to get an explanation on how to do this.

So, what I bought today at Walgreens:

2 On the Border chips: 1.99 each with in-store coupon (sale ends today)

2 Hamburger/hotdog buns: .99 each with in-store coupon (sale ends today)

4 Reynolds Wrap: .79 each (sale ends today)
– .55/1 coupon (4)
= .24 each

2 Extra Gum 3 packs: $1.50 each with in-store coupon
-$1/2 coupon
=$1 each

2 Aveeno Shave Gel $4.00 each
-$2/1 coupon (2)
=$2.00 AND get a $4.00 register reward

3 Nice tomato sauce $.25 each

1 Scott Bath Tissue $7.49
-$1/1 coupon
=$6.49

Then, I used $15 in previously earned Register Rewards and only paid $6.76 for all of this.

For CVS, I bought:

6 Gatorade $1 each

6 Sobe water $1 each
-Buy 2 get 1 free coupon

1 Kotex tampons $3.50
-$1.50/1 from the coupon machine
-$1/1 manufacturer coupon
=$1

1 Carefree liners $1
-$.50/1 and receive a $1 Extra Care Buck
=$.50 MONEY MAKER

2 Fillipo Berro Olive Oil $3.99
-$1/1 coupon (2)
=$2.99 each

2 Skintamate shave gel $1.99
– $1/1 CVS coupon (2)
-$1/1 manufacturer coupon
-$1.50/1 manufacturer coupon
=$.52 MONEY MAKER on 2

1 Dove Milk chocolate .$79
– Free Dove bar from CVS coupon machine

2 Hershey’s Air Delight .99 each
– BOGO free coupon
-Receive .99 Extra Care Buck
=FREE

I then had $7 in previous ECB and paid $7.61 out of pocket.

Leave a Reply

