Coupons · Food · Organic · Things to know · Walgreens

Dirty Dozen & Clean 15

I am hoping to be updating this blog quite a bit more frequently, but I just have not seen any Good Food coupons/deals lately. So, instead, I’ll discuss the “Dirty Dozen & Clean 15” for a moment. When I can’t buy organic or want to try to cut costs, I use this list to help me. The foods on the Dirty Dozen list, I try to buy organic all of the time. Sometimes I can’t resist a fabulous deal on conventional strawberries, so I make sure that they are rinsed very well before eating. Rinsing reduces, but does not eliminate pesticides. Foods on the Clean 15 list, I will buy conventional at times. I know that these foods have low to zero pesticide concerns.

I ALWAYS try to buy local foods first and foremost, because of the economic and environmental impact of buying foods far away from where you live. That is not always easy to do, but now that it is summer, make sure to check out the local farmers’ market.

Also, when buying canned or otherwise processed foods, I use this list as a guide when shopping. I know that tomatoes have a low pesticide level (it isn’t on this list, but I have another list that I couldn’t find online). I will stock up on canned conventional tomatoes when it is on sale. Like today, I scored on 8 Ragu pasta sauces from Walgreens. I needed to buy $15 worth of qualifying products and I would get a $5 RR. I also had coupons and previous RR that brought my out-of-pocket total to only $2.50! So think about this list when buying canned goods.

Check out www.foodnews.org for more info and a printable list of the Dirty Dozen and Clean 15 to bring with you while shopping.

Leave a Reply

